Certificate in IT Technician: Support Specialist

The IT Technician: Support Specialist Certificate of Achievement is the second stage of the IT Technician Pathway program and prepares students to further develop their IT Technician Skills. While completing the network and server security coursework, students gain practical experience as they learn how to use Help Desk software. As students complete coursework, they are encouraged to complete the aligned industry valued certifications such as CompTIA Network+, CompTIA Security+, CompTIA Server+, and Microsoft Desktop. Students who have completed Stage 1 of the IT Technician pathway along with this stage are prepared for positions such as computer user support specialists, computer network support specialists, and IT retail supervisory positions.

Required courses:
IT Technician: Computer Retail Sales and Support Certificate of Achievement20.5
ITIS 107Network Technology4
ITIS 108Network Operating Systems4
ITIS 109Network and Computer Security4
ITIS 112Microsoft Desktop Support3
Total Units35.5

Certificate of Achievement Level Student Learning Outcomes

Students completing the IT Technician: Support Specialist Certificate of Achievement will:
  1. Demonstrate knowledge of desktop computer systems and end-user software to resolve trouble-shooting issues.
  2. Demonstrate knowledge of computer inspection procedures necessary for general installation of hardware components and preventative maintenance.
  3. Demonstrate practical knowledge in the installation, repair, and configuration of the Windows OS environment.