Certificate in Information Technology

The Information Technology Certificate of Achievement is one of several certificate options available in the Information Technology and Information Systems (ITIS) program. The core competencies for this certificate include foundational skills in Information technology (ITIS 104-Information Technology, ITIS 107-Network Technology, and ITIS 115-Computer Information Systems) as well as foundational skills in computer programming (ITIS 141-Programming Fundamentals). These four foundational courses are also required in the other ITIS certificates. Students will advance from the core competencies to develop those skills sought after by IT employers. These include networking, security, IP communications, project management, software support, device integration, and ethics.

The certificate prepares the student for an entry level position in information technology such as Computer User Support Specialist (SOC Code: 15-1151), Computer Network Specialist (SOC Code: 15-1152), and Computer Operations (SOC Code: 15-1199). During the program students will also have an opportunity to complete industry certifications from CompTIA, including A+, Network+, Server+, and Security+. 

Required courses:
ITIS 104Information Technology4
ITIS 107Network Technology4
ITIS 115Computer Information Systems3.5
ITIS 141Programming Fundamentals3
Complete two (2) of the following courses:
Network Operating Systems4
Network and Computer Security4
Database Principles Using SQL3
Business Communications3
Complete one (1) of the following MATH courses:
Technical Mathematics5
Intermediate Algebra 15
Introductory Statistics 24
Introductory Statistics - Honors
Total Units24.5-27.5

Certificate of Achievement Level Student Learning Outcomes

Students completing the Information Technology Certificate of Achievement will:
  1. Demonstrate knowledge and proficiency in installing and maintaining computer hardware, installing and maintaining computer networks, and solving computer hardware and network problems.
  2. Demonstrate knowledge and skills in various areas of IT (information technology) to pass industry-approved certifications.
  3. Demonstrate the knowledge, skill and behaviors needed to obtain an entry-level position as a computer hardware installer/technician, computer network technician, field service technician, network and communication specialist/technician, or other related field of information technology.